Let the Training Begin…

19 Countries, over 12000 KM, 68 Days; welcome to Contiki Training.

In three months I will be packing my bag for a trip that I can only describe as a once in a lifetime opportunity. A whirlwind of adventure that will see me wake up in one country and fall asleep in another, if I get any sleep at all.

Recently, I saved all of my pennies for a Contiki Trip, I travelled with a friend from London to Athens with a bunch of 50 crazy travellers, during a hot European summer, making memories that I won’t be forgetting any time soon.

Contiki
Contiki

When I returned to Australia I started my final semester at university, still unsure of what I wanted to do once I graduated. I had seen Contiki advertise a Tour Manager position for Europe and the requirements seemed simple enough; be a confident speaker, have a European passport or be able to obtain visas, to preferably have travelled before and to be bubbly and outgoing. I possess all of the above and my most treasured travel item is my EU passport.

I poured my heart into my online application and a month later I was flying to Sydney for a group interview at Contiki HQ. With 20 people in the group interview the vibe was tense, many crumbled under the pressure when giving their speeches, myself included. I picked it up where I left off and after a long and stressful group interview, I scored myself a personal interview that same afternoon.

Never have I been in an personal interview that challenged me more. Trying to get a smile out of my interviewers was near impossible and serious thought went into each and every answer I gave. I walked out not knowing what to expect, all I knew was that in two weeks I would have my answer.

The email I had been waiting for.
The email I had been waiting for.

Two weeks later I was hurtled out of bed with the news that I had been accepted on the training trip. I laughed, cried and jumped at the good news. I’ve never wanted anything so badly before. Since returning from my last Contiki, I have had an urge to travel, to explore and to see the world from a different perspective, now I have that chance.

March will see me leave Australia for eight months and endure a challenging training trip before being offered a position as a Contiki Tour Manager in Europe. I am currently completing a huge assignment to help me prepare for my trip.

19 Countries, 12000 KM, 68 Days
19 Countries, 12000 KM, 68 Days

Overwhelmed and excited are two words I would use to describe how I feel about jetting off to Europe and when I mapped out my trip I figured out that I will be visiting 19 countries, covering about 12 000 KM, all in just 68 days. Not very many people can say that they have done that. I simply cannot wait.

So  sure to follow me by email to keep an eye on La Petite Globetrotter for tales from my crazy European adventure.

10 thoughts on “Let the Training Begin…

  1. Hey Chloe!
    I’ve recently sent in an application for next years tour manager applications. Did you make it through the training? I’m dying to know how it was and how you went!
    Cheers,
    Nikki

    Like

  2. Hi Nikki. I did make it through the training and have just completed my first season as a Contiki tour manager and I can honestly say that it has been incredible. Have you heard anything about interviews. You are most welcome to pick my brain whenever you need.

    Happy travels.

    Chloe

    Like

  3. Hi Chloe,
    I have an interview on Monday to be a Tour Manager with Contiki. I was wondering if there is any advice you could give me about the Interview. Im curious to know how many people they employed and what type of questions they asked in both the group and individual interviews!

    Cheers
    Bec

    Like

  4. Hi Chloe,
    I too just got an interview and would also love to hear any advice you may have going in for the interview! I am so excited! Would it be alright if I emailed you as well?

    Jaclyn

    Like

  5. Hi Chloe,
    How are you? I have got a group interview call in less than two weeks and there are lots of questions and doubts running on my mind… Can I please send you an email about it? Much appreciated!
    Thanks and happy new year.
    Cheers,
    Niyati

    Like

Leave a Reply

